The $2 Million Tweet: Crisis Communications In A Pizza Box

Posted on October 8, 2009


This Is Going To Be Messy

This Is Going To Be Messy

I was lucky enough to connect with one of the blogosphere’s kick-butt marketing bloggers, Mark Schaefer author of {grow}, and Executive Director of Schaefer Marketing Solutions. We had exchanged tweets and eventually chatted on the phone. Well, long story short, he was kind enough (foolhardy?) to invite me to write a guest blog. I took him up on his offer before he became the wiser. However, the best part is he agreed to guest blog on Digital Marketing Mercenary in the next few weeks, and I have it in writing. So, he can’t take it back!

Click here to read my complete guest post at {grow}.

The End Of PR As We Know It

When Mark challenged me to respond to his post on libel lawsuits and social media, I was thrown for a loop. Crisis communications for a business who had sued a client or tenant?  Where do you even start on a self-inflicted gunshot wound like that?

It was a little like asking me to talk about safety to a young man as he recovers in the hospital burn ward, after he met the business-end of a Roman candle in a deeply misguided Jackass reenactment.   All you can really do is take pictures of the awkward injuries to show the other kids that it is just not a good idea.  You don’t want to try…

Click here to read the complete post at {grow}.