Top 5 Social Media Posts That You Might Have Missed From Last Week: September 20, 2010 Edition

Posted on September 19, 2010


Staying Ahead Of The Social Media Knowledge Curve Made Easy

Top 5 Social Media Posts That You Might Have Missed From Last Week: September 20, 2010 Edition

Editor Steve Farnsworth (@Steveology)


5). Are You A Social Media Rock Star?

When I started my senior year at the University of Washington in 2007 I still had no idea what I wanted to be when I grew up. I fell into political communication as my major because I was interested in Barack Obama’s use of social media in the 2008 presidential campaign. Like many students, I worked weekends at a low-paying job and was hoping to someday pay my dues putting in long hours and working my way up to a quality position in a great company.

At the time, Twitter was a new novel tool, Facebook was still growing in popularity, and the true value of blogging was the topic of hot debate in the journalism department. “Social Media Marketing” was a term that elicited mostly blank stares.

Fast forward four years. Whole Foods has 1.8 million Twitter followers, Facebook is the subject of a major movie, people carry PCs in purses and I’m working for Microsoft on the Windows social media team and blogging for the Huffington Post. Nobody is more surprised than me.  [Read It Here]

4). One Hundred Media Monitoring Tools For PR

Although there are hundreds of media monitoring tools available online, some are very hard to find. We put together a collection of 100 such sources (software, applications and service providers), some free, some that require a fee. When it comes to media monitoring and analytics, it’s really hard to choose. Some offer in-depth features, but the price is too high; those that are free are not always that complete, or fast enough, or in-depth enough. Hopefully, this list will give you enough choices, and if you know of a monitoring tool you’d like to recommend, please use the comments box.

* Adobe SiteCatalyst provides marketers with actionable, real-time intelligence about online strategies and marketing initiatives. SiteCatalyst helps marketers quickly identify the most profitable paths through their Web site, determine where visitors are navigating away from their site, and identify critical success metrics for online marketing campaigns.

* Cymfony’s Verismo helps PRs demonstrate their success in simple, clear metrics. The Verismo methodology captures the essential elements of successful communications: Visibility, Reputation, Influence and Sentiment. This VRIS Model, or Verismo, defines and weights these elements in collaboration with the client in a model that aligns PR results with business goals. [Read It Here]

New here? Get more useful social media news and insight by subscribing for free to the RSS feed, or to the zero SPAM email alert (Privacy Policy) .

3). Ten Things Bloggers Should NOT Do

Every now and then I will see a list of things bloggers should do, but I notice people are not that inclined to do what they are asked to do, while they pay more attention to things they should NOT do. That is why I decided to create the list below. Here we go:

* You Must Not Expect Results Overnight: This is happening everywhere and that is the major reason why a large percentage of bloggers fail. Many bloggers come online unprepared and with the wrong set of expectations. They think blogging is a bed of roses and they only need to write one or two posts and begin to make money right away. Wrong!

* You Must Not Ignore Your Readers: Some bloggers start gaining traction fast, and after a while they start to make their blogs gravitate around themselves. That is, they start talking exclusively about themselves, about the things they like, about how cool they are and so on. Big mistake. Your blog is about your readers, not about you. [Read It Here]

2). Six Ways To Lose Customers, Credibility And Friends On Social Media

My morning alarm goes off at 7am. To be honest, it’s less an alarm to wake me and more to alert me that I haven’t checked Twitter in six hours.

When I do take a hit, I find lots of people chatting about breakfast and what’s coming in their day. I also find people screaming, throwing things and promoting the same post from 12 hours ago.

Looking for relief, I do what anyone would do – I go check Facebook. When I get there, it’s more of the same. More anger, more rage and more updates that make me want to delete all my social accounts and hide under my desk. By the time I scroll through it and finally get out of bed, it’s not the dog barking, it’s me. [Read It Here]

1). The Seven Deadly Sins Of Social Media

Social Media is so new that most people are making it up as they go,1  but most people seem to make the same mistakes. Or dare I say sins. . . . We look at the biggest players online for business–Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn–but the same concepts can be applied to any social media site.

Greed

Greed is quite a popular sin. Twitter by default is a self-centered tool. It’s about us. But it’s 100 times better if used as a conversational tool versus a dictation. I see people using Twitter as a glorified RSS feed for their blog or an ad-puker. So absent of personality, I wonder why they even try. Yes, they are in business, but if they believe that business is built on relationships, they need to make building them their business. [Read It Here]

Share